Inspiration

gandalf

Sketch by cooey2ph

Endeavoring to lead a game
Of Pathfinder, I am ashamed
To say I’ve never read (but seen)
The work of J. R. R. Tolkien.

For if I am to weave a tale
As skilled as those in Rivendell,
I must immerse in lofty prose
Until my thought to tongue smooth flows.

All for eleven twelve-year-olds
Hungry for a tale well told,
In which they go where evil lies
To find their glory, prepared to die!

And so today’s to Inspiration!
From heroes, and from those who to tell,
From those of high and lowest station,
From those who strain to listen well.

About ronaldsf

Grandmaster of the Pathfinders' Guild at Martin Luther King Middle School.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inspiration

  1. Beni Snow says:

    Well done. Reminds me (thematically, anyway) of Sidney’s “Astrophil and Stella, Sonnet 1” which ends:

    ‘And others’ feet still seem’d but strangers in my way.
    Thus, great with child to speak, and helpless in my throes,
    Biting my truant pen, beating myself for spite–
    “Fool,” said my Muse to me, “look in thy heart and write.” ‘

    Referring to inspiration and where we draw it from when we want to awe. I don’t think drawing from the great, hallmark works that laid ground for our games is necessary; but I do understanding wanting to pay homage. Amazing poem, anyway.

    • ronaldsf says:

      Thanks for the comment! My sources of inspiration were threefold in this poem actually. And what moved me to write it was that they were external in origin — I was an aspiring writer in middle school and high school but found another vocation upon starting college, and so my creative production languished. Not only that — I found it hard to start again despite my efforts. It took a new environment and new people to get my creativity flowing again.

      For, after all: what use is making art if one doesn’t have an audience, eh? 🙂

Leave a Reply

